Hello there Fluff

AAGGGHH! This was an absolute pain in the *** to get working.

I spent waaay too much time rummaging through the internet trying to find a good greeting script, but everything was either way to complicated, or too spammy. I just wanted something that detected an Avatar within a range, then said hello. That’s it. No “memory function” or anything like that.

I searched on the wiki,  outworldz and even on the Second Life market place to find something that would work, but had no luck. Even tried making my own using sensors (http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/LlSensor) and talking with other people, but nothing.

Right when I was about to give up, I found this YouTube video:

The quality was terrible, but fast forwarding to the end, it looked like exactly what I needed.

I squinted and started trying to replicate the code. I noticed there was some extra functionality I wouldn’t need eg. turning to face the Avatar, and “remembering”. I first tried removing both of these features, but it didn’t work. I then re-added the Remember part, but still no luck. While digging through the code, I realised there was no real clear difference between a l, 1 or i. After a bit of playing, I came to the conclusion that this would work:

i or l

I popped it in, making sure to remove the rotation part of the code:

Hello script

And it worked! Yes, I know I left rotation startRotation; in there, but it didn’t break it. Let’s just call it a “feature” OK? Even better, I could now change the range and voice level using the variable at the top. Neat aye?

Tasks Completed:

  • A scanning system that will detect the presence of an avatar then interact with the avatar in some manner
  • An instance of scripted communication with an avatar via main chat

One thought on “Hello there Fluff

Leave a comment